One Week!

As of today we have had Lexi for one week.  It feels like so much longer!  It has been such a great week and we couldn’t be happier.  We are so incredibly lucky to have this beautiful girl in our lives.  Despite an awful start to life, Lexi has opened her heart to us and given us her trust.  We promise you, Lexi, that we will never betray the trust you have placed in us.  We promise to give you belly rubs, soft blankets to sleep on, kisses on your little brown nose, good food to keep you healthy, and the medical care you need to continue to heal.  We will give you the forever home you deserve, the life you have always dreamed of.  You deserve nothing less.

snoozin'

snoozin’

bigfoot!

bigfoot!

proud big brother!

proud big brother!

TIRE!

TIRE!

hangin' out together!

hangin’ out together!

Now, for tonight’s final picture, the highlight of today:

napping butt-to-butt!

napping butt-to-butt!

We had some brief butt-to-butt lounging on the couch today!  We are still moving carefully – Zev does get a bit jealous when Lexi gets our attention and he is still getting used to sharing his house with another dog.  Even so, he and Lexi both have been wonderful and patient with each other, and really like each other.  Pretty awesome, especially for a big, dominant, dog-selective moose and a rescue with a pretty mysterious past wrought with neglect.  John and I are so proud of these two and the progress we are all making.  With some more time we will see more and more of these two cuddling on the same couch.

Well, that’s it for tonight.  Tomorrow has been designated as bath day for Lexi at my parents’ house in their huge bathtub!  I am sure she will be a good girl for me :).  Till tomorrow!

8 thoughts on “One Week!

  1. This brings tears to my eyes! Once again, thank you for continuing the blog. I get so excited when I see there is a new post, can’t get enough of this pretty little lady and her happy, new life! You guys are doing so wonderfully with her it makes my heart happy to know the love this girl gives is and will always be reciprocated. 🙂 Oh, and Zev looks like such a love, too! Lexi sure hit the jackpot! Look forward to photos of the two of them playing together, I’m sure they will quickly become forever friends!

    • Thanks, Kaitlyn! I teared up a bit writing this post, thinking about how far this girl has come and what an absolute doll she is. We are so lucky! I’m so glad to hear you are excited about the posts. I felt the same way whenever I got word that Laurelin had put up a new post about her…I just couldn’t wait to read it! She is such a famous girl 😉

  2. She sure is! Laurelin’s posts were great, as are yours! Although I never met Miss Lexi in person, it makes me feel as if I have a bond with her. It’s so nice to see dogs that you contribute to their rehabilitation, progress and go on to find wonderful forever homes. I often think of so many of the HDR dogs and wonder how they are doing. I was so happy to find that you continued the blog so we can all see how Lexi is adjusting and how happy she is with her new family! Thank you for taking the time to post, open up your home & share this special girl with the rest of us 🙂

  3. I am so happy for Lexi and her new family! I really look forward to these updates. They truly make my day so much better! Thank you for sharing your family with us!

Leave a Reply

