Proud Momma!

Hey everyone!  I had the last two days off work unexpectedly, so I took full advantage of the nice weather and spent a lot of time outside with the dogs.  Yesterday (Tuesday), we went for a nice walk down our road to a dock and back.

61568_10151347817971431_1009825449_n

We are really lucky to live where we do, and I will miss it once we take off for Hawaii.  Good news is, we will have plenty of beaches where we’re going!

After our walk, Lexi and I took a ride to URI – I had to run a letter into one of the buildings quickly, and then we hung out on the grass by the Boss Ice Arena for a few minutes.  Lexi sat calmly as all of the college kids walked by on their way to classes.

Then, we took a trip to visit our friend Denise at Dogs In Harmony!  If you remember from my previous posts, Lexi has been pretty angsty on our past visits there.  She will walk in and be social for all of a minute, and then gets nervous and lets me know she’s ready to leave by whining, panting, and trying to chew on her leash.  I distract her with treats, but I don’t push it and usually keep our visits very brief.  Yesterday, however, Lexi marched right into the store and sniffed every bag of food she could reach, twice over.  She said “Hi” to Denise, and then sniffed some more as I grabbed another box of her food and a few more cans of pumpkin.  Only after several minutes there did she start to show some signs of anxiety, so we left as soon as she was ready, but this was our best trip by far.  She did such a great job!  We came home after that and hung out on the deck together.  They both loved soaking up the sun, and Lexi napped on a shady part of the deck for quite some time!

547941_10151347818056431_762087022_n

563715_10151347817771431_1419694823_n

Today was another beautiful, sunny day, so my mom and I took the dogs to Beavertail State Park in Jamestown.  We had a great time!  My mom offered to walk Zev so I could focus more on Lexi, and he was a perfect gentleman for her.  He LOVES walks – day, night, snow, sun, on the beach, on a trail, down the road – whenever and wherever!

IMG_2725

If you look closely, you can see the HUGE smile on Zev’s face!

Lexi did a great job too!  It was a fairly busy day with other dogs and people out enjoying the park.  We kept to ourselves for the most part, but we did have several people ask us to pet the dogs, and they both did great.  At one point a cute little girl came running through the grass toward us, without an adult.  I was a bit worried that she was going to come at the dogs too quickly, and I was ready to jump up and between her and the dogs.  Zev has always been great with children and probably would not have cared one bit to have this little girl come running up to him, but we are still learning about Lexi and what makes her tick, so I definitely did not want her to get startled by this little girl and have a bad experience.  Before she got too close, though, she stopped in her tracks and asked “Can I pet your bulldogs?” and waited for my permission to come closer.  Bravo to whoever taught her the safe way to approach dogs you don’t know!  I had her pet Zev first, while Lexi sat next to me calmly and watched, and then she came over and pet Lexi, who was very gentle with her and happy to meet her.  We soon continued with our walk and the dogs were nice and tired by the time we got back to the car.  I took Lexi’s boots off for her trip home (her feet are looking GREAT, by the way!), as her front set kept sliding down too far throughout our walk.  We need to measure her for a new pair before we go to Hawaii, since her feet have changed SO much in the past few months.  Lexi rocked her first trip to Beavertail!  I am very proud of both pups for being so good with my mom and a new setting.

IMG_2726

On the way home, we stopped at another dog bakery/supply store we love, Johnny’s Barkin’ Bakery.  We took the dogs in to grab some treats and Lexi did great, once again!  She marched right in and was very social with the nice employee, and Zev got his usual handful of sample treats and was pleased.  Now we are home relaxing and the pups are taking a nap.  I am so happy we were able to enjoy these past two days so much, and especially happy I was able to spend time with my Mom.  My parents are incredible people and I owe so much to them.  They love John and the dogs like family, and we really will miss them when we move.  Thankfully, they are already planning their first trip out to Oahu to visit us!

That’s it for today.  Have a great week!  Hugs and kisses from Lexi and Zev!

Leave a Reply

