Hot, hot, hot!

Sorry I’ve been M.I.A. for a bit now.  The internet at our house hasn’t been working, so I am sitting at a nice coffee shop right now getting some work done.  We have missed you all!  I have a lot to share, starting with this oppressive heat!  It has been in the mid-90’s for about 5 days straight, which has been brutal.  Zev got sick (gastro “issues”, out both ends…) about a week ago when the humidity really started to set in.  Every summer he seems to have an issue like this – I think the sudden onset of high humidity really throws him for a loop.  Luckily, he was sick for about 20 hours and then started to feel much better.  I got a kiddie pool from a friend and put it on the deck, and he LOVES it!

21377_10151483332666431_1650058378_n

 

If I walk into it, he will follow me and just walk around in it for a few minutes.  It definitely helps to cool him off a bit.  Lexi isn’t a big fan of it, but if she seems hot I put her in and splash some water on her chest and stomach.

Speaking of Lexi, she has been sick the past 4 days or so.  Someone always has to be sick, right?  I think she also had a tough time with the heat and high humidity.  On the first REALLY hot day this week, she got REALLY sick out of nowhere – even though she was in the relatively cool house all day while John and I were at work.  John came home on his lunch break to discover a huge mess and he figured she was not feeling well in the heat.  She seemed a lot better the next day, but then yesterday morning she got really sick again.  John was able to spend the morning home with her, and she seemed to perk up a bit, but he scheduled an appointment with our vet to have her seen that afternoon.  Luckily, by the time I got home from work around 2:30, she was drastically better.  I decided to cancel the appointment and just keep a careful eye on her, and she has since been much better and is back to herself.  I cooked her a nice bland dinner and have been making her “slushies” of pumpkin mixed with water to help rehydrate her and also keep her cool.  So far, so good!  The heat is supposed to break tonight and be more manageable by tomorrow, so I am definitely looking forward to that.

1014434_10151486262416431_2129417475_n

So, that’s it for us for today.  I will have some more updates to share tomorrow.  Hugs and kisses from Lexi and Zev!

Leave a Reply

